May 4, 2017 Last Updated 9:59 am

Michael Klingensmith, Publisher at the Star Tribune, elected Chairman of the Board of NAA

Klingensmith, before joining Star Tribune Media Co., held various management positions including general manager of Time Magazine and CFO of Time Inc.

Arlington, VA – May 3, 2017 — The News Media Alliance has elected Michael Klingensmith, Publisher and CEO, Star Tribune, as its Chairman of the Board of Directors. Klingensmith, who previously served as Vice Chairman, succeeds Tony Hunter, president of TWH, Incorporated and Chairman of Nucleus Marketing Solutions.

As the news media industry continues to evolve, Klingensmith and the Board of Directors will vigorously advocate on behalf of the industry while expanding existing and introducing new strategies and initiatives to maximize the value of Alliance membership.

Klingensmith joined the Star Tribune in January 2010 after spending most of his more than 30-year career in publishing with Time Inc. in New York City.

“Mike is an incredibly well-respected leader among newspaper publishers and beyond, and we are thrilled that he is our new Chairman,” said David Chavern, News Media Alliance President and CEO. “Through his extensive media career, Mike has demonstrated his unfailing commitment to the industry, and his knowledge of what it takes to be successful amid a changing media landscape will continue to be an invaluable asset to our many diverse members, both print and digital.”

Within Time Inc., Klingensmith held various management positions, including general manager of Time Magazine and CFO of Time Inc. He was the co-developer of the concept for Entertainment Weekly and became its founding publisher in 1989, leading the magazine through its launch and emergence as one of the company’s most profitable titles. In 2001, Klingensmith became executive vice president at Time Inc. He left the company in 2008. Prior to his current role at Star Tribune, he was a managing director of AdMedia Partners, a New York mergers and acquisition advisory firm.

“It is an honor to be named as Chairman of the News Media Alliance,” said Klingensmith. “News media have never been more vital to the communities we serve than we are today, and the Alliance is committed to delivering premium content. We will continue to develop and implement programs that demonstrate news media as the respected and trustworthy organizations they have always been, as well as the innovative, multi-platform content and marketing solutions providers they have become.”

Other Alliance officers elected were: Terry Kroeger, President, CEO & Publisher, BH Media Group (vice chairman); Mark Aldam, President, Hearst Newspapers (secretary); and Anna Sedgley, COO & CFO, Dow Jones & Company, Inc. (treasurer).

Elected to initial two-year terms (2017-2019) on the News Media Alliance Board of Directors were:

Edward Bushey, Newsday Media Group

Roland A. Caputo, The New York Times

Ann Caulkins, McClatchy, The Charlotte Observer

Toni Cook Bush, News Corp.

Justin C. Dearborn, tronc, Inc.

Amy Glennon, Cox Media Group

Alex Skatell, Independent Journal Review

Comments are closed.