May 18, 2016 Last Updated 3:20 pm

Tribune Publishing’s Tony Hunter elected Chairman of the Board of Directors of the NAA

Hunter is Hunter is Tribune Publishing’s President of National Revenue and Strategic Initiatives, and was formerly Publisher and CEO of the Chicago Tribune Company

Arlington, Va. – May 18, 2016 — The Newspaper Association of America (NAA) has elected Tony Hunter, president of national revenue and strategic initiatives at Tribune Publishing Company, as Chairman of the Board of Directors of NAA. Hunter, who previously served as Board Secretary, succeeds Donna Barrett in this position. Barrett, the president and CEO of Community Newspaper Holdings, Inc., will continue to serve on the NAA Board of Directors as Immediate Past Chairman.

As the news media industry continues to evolve, Hunter and the Board of Directors will vigorously advocate on behalf of the industry while establishing new strategies and initiatives to amplify the benefits of NAA membership.

Hunter is an accomplished media and marketing executive with a career spanning more than 30 years. His leadership helped to transform the Chicago Tribune Media Group and Tribune Publishing Company into some of the nation’s most diversified, innovative media entities. In his current role at Tribune Publishing Company, Hunter is responsible for national revenue performance and also involved in identifying innovative strategic partnerships to accelerate innovation and achieve the company’s business objectives.

“Through his dedication to the media industry, Tony has earned the respect of colleagues across the country,” said David Chavern, NAA president and CEO. “He is a widely-recognized expert in organizational transformation, and his keen focus on innovation will help to ensure that our association is effectively meeting the needs of our diverse membership.”

Prior to his current role at Tribune Publishing Company, Hunter served as CEO of Chicago Tribune Media Group (CTMG). Under his leadership, CTMG’s differential consumer offerings expanded across print, digital, mobile and social platforms. He played an instrumental role in many noteworthy initiatives and accomplishments, including the acquisition of 38 suburban-Chicago titles, which further solidified the Chicago Tribune as a market news leader, as well as the implementation of an award-winning next-generation digital experience and the diversification of revenues.

“It is an honor to assume the role of Chairman at a time of tremendous evolution in an industry that is vital to the communities we serve,” said Hunter. “The NAA is united behind a mission to deliver premium content to all of our stakeholders and will continue to drive key initiatives that further our transition from newspapers to multiplatform content and marketing solutions providers.”

Hunter currently serves as Chairman of Nucleus Marketing Solutions (a collaborative venture among Tribune Publishing Company, Gannett, Hearst and McClatchy), Chairman of the National Newspaper Association and as a Member of the Board of the Alliance for Audited Media. He earned his MBA from DePaul University in Chicago and received his BA from Coe College in Cedar Rapids, IA.

Other NAA officers elected were: Michael Klingensmith, Publisher and CEO, Star Tribune, vice chairman; Terry Kroeger, President, CEO & Publisher, BH Media Group, treasurer; and Mark Aldam, President, Hearst Newspapers, secretary.

Elected to initial two-year terms on the NAA Board of Directors were:

Gregg Fernandes, Vice President, Customer Care and Logistics, The Washington Post
Derek May, President, Morris Publishing, LLC
James Moroney, III, Chairman, President & CEO, AH Belo Corporation
Anna Sedgley, CFO, Dow Jones & Company Inc.
Patrick Talamantes, President & CEO, The McClatchy Company
John Zidich, President, Domestic Publishing, Gannett, Co., Inc.

Comments are closed.