March 14, 2014 Last Updated 4:01 pm

Randall-Reilly Publishing’s Overdrive wins Grand Neal Award during ABM’s 60th Annual Jesse H. Neal Awards

Press Release:

NEW YORK, NY – March 14, 2014 -– Randall-Reilly Publishing Company’s Overdrive, The Voice of the American Trucker, received the coveted Grand Neal Award during ABM’s 60th Annual Jesse H. Neal Awards ceremony, held today at Pier Sixty in New York City. (Click here to view the online gallery of 2014 Neal Award winners.)

The winning entry, “CSA’s Data Trail,” earned the Grand Neal from a pool of 612 submissions.

Overdrive-May-coverRandall-Reilly Publishing Company’s editorial staff accepted the Grand Neal Award from Trevor Butterworth, editor of and head judge of this year’s Neal Awards judging board. This year’s board of judges included Lisa Gibbs, senior writer of Money; Harry McCracken, editor at large of Time; Ellen McGirt, senior writer of Fast Company; and Allen Wastler, managing editor of The board of judges selected one Neal Award winner in each category and ultimately chose the Grand Neal recipient.

“Overdrive’s data trail struck the judges as both a masterful service to its readers and a master class in how to use data to hold the Federal government accountable for a safety system whose rankings were inconsistent, often unfair, and unacceptably opaque,” Butterworth said. “This is the kind of committed, analytical reporting where the line between B2B and public service disappears into great journalism.”
“Project: Blackbird,” from MTG Media Group’s Plate ;“The Age of Plenty,” from IEEE Media’s IEEE Spectrum; and “Videos by Crain’s New York Business,” from Crain Communications’ Crain’s New York Business were all recognized as Grand Neal finalists.

ABM also honored the very best of the B2B industry through a series of special awards recognizing industry commitment:

CassidyRobert Cassidy, editorial director of Building Design+Construction, was selected as the winner of the 46th Annual G.D. Crain, Jr. Award for a Distinguished Editorial Career. Throughout Cassidy’s 36-year career, he has applied his commitment to excellence in journalism to medical and scientific publishing, and most recently, the $1.7 trillion U.S. construction industry. This G.D. Crain, Jr. Award is given annually to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the development of editorial excellence in business media.

Michael Fabey, naval editor of Aviation Week, received the 2014 Timothy White Award for Editorial Integrity. Fabey’s three decades as a military reporter and naval reporter have taken him all over the world and deep below the sea, writing from Brazil, Australia, Singapore and a nuclear sub in the Atlantic, among other locales. The Timothy White Award is given annually to an editor whose work displays courage, integrity and passion.

Chandra Ram, editor of Plate, was named the 2014 McAllister Editorial Fellow. Ram, editor of Plate magazine and president of Meals on Wheels Chicago, is a veteran of the foodservice industry who spent more than 15 years as a cook and consulting chef before trading the kitchen for the editor’s chair. The McAllister Editorial Fellowship promotes the study of business media by placing fellows as teachers and advisors at Northwestern University’s Medill School of Journalism.

In addition to the special awards that are given annually, ABM honored the individual and the publication with the most wins in the first 60 years of the Neal Awards.

Marianne Dekker Mattera, managing editor of MedPage Today, was honored for being the individual with the most wins in the first 60 years of the Neal Awards. Mattera is a much-lauded editor and wordsmith in the field of healthcare publishing. Mattera has won 18 Neal Awards, including the G.D. Crain, Jr. Award in 1997.

McGraw Hill Financial’s Architectural Record was honored for being the publication with the most wins in the first 60 years of the Neal Awards. Architectural Record has won 28 awards (including the Grand Neal Award in 2012).

Click here to view the online Neal Awards gallery, which showcases all 2014 winners and finalists.

Click here to view the digital program book, powered by Superior Media Solutions.

Comments are closed.