Apple developer site posts notice stating that app screenshots will get locked in once an app is approved
For a number of media companies, today’s move by Apple could be of vital importance to understand. Beginning today, Apple says that app screenshots will be locked in iTunes Connect once the app has been approved.
The move is being made to prevent app game scams where the developer uses one set of screenshots while the app is going through the approval process, and another set once the app has made it into the App Store.
Beginning January 9, app screenshots will be locked in iTunes Connect once your app has been approved. New screenshots may be uploaded when you submit a binary for an update to an existing app or a new app. For more information on capturing and using screenshots, read the Xcode User Guide.
It is assumed that this won’t effect app icons that get updated inside Newsstand as new issues are submitted.
But quite a number of digital publishing vendors routinely submit generic screenshots of either the app’s splash page, or a back issue, when first submitting an app for approval. Then, once the app has gone live and the publisher makes issues go live screenshots from the live issues are substituted.
An app like EN – The magazine for Entrepreneurs, for instance, contains screenshots for both the iPad and iPhone version, but only one for the iPhone app, presumably because until the app goes live one wouldn’t have real screenshots to display. But now that the app is live Apple’s rule may prevent updating the screenshots until the app releases an update, or a new app is submitted.